Skip To Main Content

Summer Learning Institute (Grades K-8) enrollment is open through 3 p.m. on April 20. Head to the Parent PowerSchool portal to register or visit our SLI page.

Lee's Summit R-7 School District and Chamber of Commerce announce 2022 Excellence in Teaching finalists

LSR7 logo: graphic illustration of a graduate with teal and blue colors

Twelve LSR7 Educators awarded Excellence in Teaching Awards, Three selected as Teachers of Distinction

Twelve Lee's Summit R-7 School District educators learned Friday that they are the 2022 recipients of the Lee's Summit Chamber of Commerce Excellence in Teaching Awards. Excellence in Teaching awards are given each year to outstanding educators who are nominated by district staff, students or families. Joining the 12 Excellence in Teaching Award winners are three Teachers of Distinction, educators who have previously been awarded the Excellence in Teaching recognition and have been nominated again.

The 15 recipients will interview to be considered for the 2022 Teacher of the Year award. That winner will be announced at a reception Wednesday, April 13 at Longview Mansion.

The following teachers were honored by the district and Lee's Summit Chamber of Commerce:

2022 Excellence in Teaching:

  • Mrs. Jessie Bruto - Hawthorn Hill Elementary, 1st Grade Teacher
  • Mrs. Susan Byrne - Cedar Creek Elementary, 3rd Grade Teacher
  • Mrs. Julie Coram - Richardson Elementary/Greenwood Elementary, Gifted Teacher
  • Mrs. Holly Dahn - Summit Lakes Middle, Music Teacher
  • Mrs. Patty Kralicek - Cedar Creek Elementary, Kindergarten Teacher
  • Mrs. Michona Kuehn - Miller Park Center, Transition Teacher
  • Mrs. Liang May Lee - Lee's Summit High/Lee's Summit West, Chinese Mandarin Teacher
  • Mrs. Michelle Lisle - Hazel Grove Elementary, Kindergarten Teacher
  • Mrs. Karen Love - Pleasant Lea Elementary, Special Education Teacher
  • Mrs. Hope MacKenzie - Summit Technology Academy, Engineering Instructor
  • Mrs. Sara McGurk - Pleasant Lea Middle, 8th Grade Math Teacher
  • Mrs. Susan Mosier - Lee's Summit High, Special Education Teacher

2022 Teacher of Distinction:

  • Mrs. Mindy Haesemeyer - Lee's Summit North, English Teacher
  • Mr. Joseph Keeney - Lee's Summit North, Orchestra Teacher
  • Mrs. Sara Witteman - Lee's Summit North, English Teacher